AirPurifiers.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At AirPurifiers.com
Shop Air Purifiers or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier

Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier

The Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier is the smartest, quietest, and most powerful Alen ever. With 42% greater airflow, 42% more coverage, and 50% quieter operation, the BreatheSmart truly offers a new way to breathe pure air. The Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier features an easy to replace HEPA (High Efficiency Particulate Air) style filter that combines several layers of filter technology to purify and freshen the air in your home. Polluted air first passes through Alen's washable Pre-Filter to capture large particles, extending the life of the filter. In the second layer, air moves through a unique, electrostatically charged HEPA style material that attracts and captures up to 99% of dust, pollen, pet dander, mold spores and other airborne pollutants. Versatile filter options are available with additional filtration layers to address bacteria, chemicals, heavy odor and smoke concerns. The BreatheSmart's ozone-safe Ionizer complements the HEPA style filter by charging particles in the air, causing them to stick together and become more easily captured. Offering Alen's greatest coverage, the Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier circulates all of the air within a 1100 square foot space more than twice every hour on its highest speed. It comes standard with the HEPA-Pure Filter, designed for easy replacement. We recommend regular filter replacements to extend the life of your air purifier and maximize performance. Replace your filter every 6 months for severe concerns or when running the air purifier 24/7. Replace your filter every 12 months for light concerns or when running the air purifier only as needed. The Alen BreatheSmart's Filter Life Timer indicates when it is time to replace the filter based on the operating fan speed and duration of use. The optimal filter replacement frequency may vary based on your environment and health concerns. Important Features:
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 117 reviews
5 Stars
100
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
113 out of 11598%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Review 1 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what we were looking for!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Jim34
from Urbandale, Iowa
Gender: Male
We were hoping to eliminate most of the dust in our new home. This product has done exactly that! The very first day I came home from work I could tell a difference in the air quality in our home. We do not need to dust as often, which is great! We highly recommend this product. Will most likely buy more air purifiers for other areas of our home.
Pros: User friendly, Good Value
Cons: somewhat bulky
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has helped the asthma

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Razmataz
from Ashland, KY, USA
Gender: Female
The dust, the odors, everything is better. I am breathing better than I have in years and taking nebulizer treatments less often. It was a great decision to buy two of these air purifiers and I'll probably get more and smaller ones for the other rooms in the house. So, finally I can take charge of my own home and clean, clean, clean .... without getting sick.
Pros: Good Performance, Good Value, User friendly, Attractive Design
Concerns: Smoke, Asthma, Allergies, Dust, mold
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional quality

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Howard
from New Jersey
Gender: Male
The BreatheSmart is a simple to use, carefree, and highly efficient air cleaner. We purchased this model to place in our common living areas. It cleans the air very well and its automatic adjustment features enables it to respond to changing conditions as well as makes it quite energy efficient. Disregard complaints about the sound the unit makes. You will easily become accustomed to the background "white noise" feature of this cleaner. The BreatheSmart is a remarkable machine whose self-adjusting features should be incorporated into a model for smaller spaces.
Pros: Good Performance, User friendly, Great Warranty, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Bacteria/Germs, Dust, mold
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great customer service

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Wags
from Orlando, FL
Gender: Male
First unit received had an electronic problem after a few days. Contacted customer service by email and they called me back the next day. Sent return label and shipped new unit the next business day. Great customer service. New unit arrive within the week and is working fine.
Pros: Good Performance, Quiet
Concerns: Pets, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product perfectly meets my needs.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Janet8
from Northfield Center, OH
Gender: Female
I was able to notice a big difference in the air quality within the first few hours that I had it running.
Pros: User friendly, Good Value, Quiet, Attractive Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A winning product at last!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer avatar
carolM
from La Grange, Texas
Gender: Female
I have always utilized air purifies in my home, as we have allot of allergies. We live in the Country and do have allot of dust to deal with. After using my air purifier for 3 weeks, I have really enjoyed the benefits. The air smells much fresher, and the dust is almost diminished. This machine is also build with quality. I feel the price is right on target. Great for any home or office.
Pros: User friendly, Good Value, Quiet, Attractive Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much Better Air

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
rmil
from Texas
Gender: Male
We have the newest air purifier by Alen called the Breathe Smart. It has become a great addition to our house. We set it up between our living / dining room (open floor plan) and it has done a fantastic job covering the area which is about 800 sf. The air feels cleaner and I am sneezing much less than before. I am very sensitive to dust and pollen and still have to go through the occasional asthma attack a few times a year due to the earlier mentioned culprits. However, I have not had any attacks since the Breathe Smart has been set up. We also set up an additional defender against air pollutants and put a smaller Alen Air Purifier in the bedroom. So far so good. I would definitely recommend getting The new Breathe Smart.
As for looks, the Breathe Smart is sleek and modern looking. It was super easy to set up. The front cover is a nice design and very user friendly. It is very simple to remove and just as a simple to put back when replacing the filter. One really cool feature that I enjoy is the colored light air sensor. Alen has added an indicator light that glows different colors depending on the air quality. I like knowing when the air has been "cleaned." The new automatic sensor is great too. You can set the Breathe Smart on auto and it adjusts its cleaning speed appropriately. If the air quality is not good, the Breathe Smart kicks itself into turbo gear and filters the room. When the air quality gets better, it adjusts and lowers the cleaning speed.
I don't know why I waited so long to get one of these. I really believe that these air purifiers give me a better chance at living a healthier life. I breathe good, which allows me to sleep good, which ultimately results in great rest and lots of energy. This machine has really made a difference in my quality of life.
Pros: User friendly, Long life, Quiet, Attractive Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well. Just what I needed.

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Denny
from South Carolina
Gender: Male
The Breath Smart is working perfectly. The automatic feature is just what I needed. Turn it on and let it go. The color change feature indicating the contaminates it great. The Silver filter does a god jobs in trapping the contaminates as well.
Pros: User friendly, Long life, Quiet, Attractive Design
Cons: Pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Breathesmart is Smart

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Jimbob
from Oviedo, FL, USA
Gender: Male
The Breathesmart is an awesome machine with so many features and filter options. It's smart because it knows what is needed and when it's needed. I just set it on auto and it does the rest. The dust accumulation in my bedroom has been reduced by about 70% and the air is so clean and fresh smelling. It came very well protected in shipment and it was obvious at the outset that it came from a company that took great pride in its product. I did considerable research before buying and I don't think there is a better machine on the market. The lifetime warranty really sets it apart as well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet - Easy to Use

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
RichP
from Fernandina Beach, FL
Gender: Male
I have been using my BreatheSmart Air Purifier for a few weeks. It is easy to set up, operate and use. However, I have no idea how well it is working. The Auto mode does adjust to accommodate pollutants, but my nose does not sense the same change. I invested in the product to breath the cleanest air possible, just like I do with a water purifier.
Pros: Good Performance, User friendly, Great Warranty, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Bacteria/Germs, Dust
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great if you have pets.

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Chele30
from Baltimore, MD
Gender: Female
I purchased an air purifier on the recommendation from a friend, and I'm glad I did. It helps with pet and smoke odors, and it is quiet, I can leave it running at night.
Pros: User friendly, Quiet, Attractive Design
Cons: Pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the air-purifier best buy I ever made.

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
retta 44
from chicago, il
Gender: Female
I am very happy with my air-purifiers. the air is cleaner and i'm breathing better. I have tell all my friends and family how wonder is it. I have asthma, copd, and allergies and I have already seen an improvement I should have bought this a along time ago.
Pros: User friendly, Good Value, Long life, Quiet, Attractive Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Unit with well designed controls

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Radwulf II
from Northern Michigan
Gender: Male
Unit was easy to set up, the control system is well designed. It is quiet enough on low speed to run overnight even though my wife is a very light sleeper. I like the design of the filters with a washable pre-filter in front of the HEPA filter. It should extend the life of the HEPA filter. Also the ionizer placement is ideal to help conglomerate fines before they are pulled though the filter system. That placement will also help if they generate small amounts of O3 as some ionizer will do at times.I run the auto mode during the day and the particle analyzer will shift fan speeds as needed. The filter change light is a nice idea (I hope the algorithm takes into account particle count as well as fan speed in calculating filter life or else there is a differential pressure sensor across the filter pack. I did a lot of on-line research before deciding on this one.
Pros: Good Value, Quiet, Attractive Design
Cons: Pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Pokey
from Knoxville, TN
Gender: Male
This unit is improving the quality of air in my house.
Pros: User friendly, Quiet, Attractive Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Reginald
Perth, Western Australia
Run this test
Posted August 31, 2013
At night time in your dark bedroom, turn a torch light on and look at the beam of light. You will see millions of particles of air born dust in the beam.
Please do this simple test near your Air Purifying Machine.
Turn it on and then hold the beam of light from the torch close to the air intake on the machine. The dust should be seen to be flowing into the machine, effectively removing it from the room.
After a while, there should be no air born dust in the room.
If your Room Air Purifier passes this test, please let me know the brand / model (so I can buy one too)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet - works well

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
LuLu
from California
Gender: Female
when I ordered this it arrived defective. It was shipped back the next day. I did not get a replacement for over a week but when I called them they sent me one prompty, 2nd day delievery. So they tried to make things right for me. I have been using this for 3 weeks now. It has not taken care of my problem completely but I think it does a great job. There has been alot of smoke from a neighbor who has been having fires in a fire pit in the back yard. I do think this air purifer has made all the difference in being able to stay in my home while the fires are giving off alot of smoke, other wise I would of had to leave my home. When there are no fires, this a GREAT machine, very quiet, makes the air is my home fresh and clean. I recommend this air purifer and I recommend this company for striving to provide good customer service. Also I think the purifier cuts down on the dust in my home.
Pros: Good Performance, User friendly, Quiet, Attractive Design
Concerns: Allergies, Pets, Odor, Dust, fire smoke
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product greatly improves air quality!

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
kkg
from Colorado Springs, CO
Gender: Female
We have owned the Alen Air Purifier for over 4 years and it has greatly helped us sleep as well as clear the air of allergens. We love it and all you have to do is replace the air filter every 6 months. It's great!
Pros: User friendly, Long life
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great and very easy to use.

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
AG
from Wichtia, KS
Gender: Female
My whole family is very happy with the two Allen HEPA air filters we ordered. We have been using them for about a month now. We noticed a difference in the air quality within the first day. We all have allergies and these filters are helping a lot. They are easy to use and the filters were easy to instal as well. Most likely we will order a third air filter for the basement level of our home.
Pros: User friendly, Good Value, Long life, Quiet, Attractive Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible performance and quiet

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
JT420316
from Chicago, Il
Gender: Male
This is by far the best air purifier/filter I have ever purchased. Operates quietly and the auto feature is great. My cat no longer bothers allergic guests and the air just feels cleaner in my home.
Pros: User friendly, Good Value, Long life, Quiet, Attractive Design
Cons: Pricey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alen BreatheSmart Air Purifier.

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer avatar
SanLyn007
from Thousand Oaks, California
Gender: Female
Received my Alen BreatheSmart one month ago. I noticed the difference in the air the second morning I got up. I have two cats and noticed that the pet dander is almost eliminated. I highly recommend this air purifier to anyone who has allergies and just wants to breathe nice clean fresh air.
Pros: Attractive Design
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alen BreatheSmart HEPA Air Purifier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clean and pure

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Fred at 2285
from High point, NC
Gender: Male
That's how I describe my Alen air purifier filter. We love it. No strange odors in our home.
Pros: Good Performance, Quiet
Concerns: Allergies, Asthma
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>